Unfortunately, car accidents are a fact of life for many. In the US alone, there are over 6 million car accidents each day. That’s why if you find yourself in a car accident, it’s important to know what to do. Today, we’ll go over the typical car accident lawsuit timeline you can expect if you live in the state of Florida.
Do I Need To Report My Accident?
In short, yes. In Florida, you are required to notify the authorities of any accident involving injury, death, or property damage over $500. For more minor accidents, all drivers must file a crash report within 10 days of the accident.
While law enforcement will collect evidence at the scene of the accident, it’s important you also record the names and contact information from all witnesses, and record photographic evidence of your vehicle.
Step 1: Seek medical treatment
The first step in any personal injury or accident lawsuit timelines is seeking appropriate medical treatment. It’s particularly important to get timely treatment. Not only will it ensure you recover fully, but your treatment records will serve as important evidence supporting your auto accident claim.
If you delay seeking treatment, insurance agencies may argue there is no connection between the accident and your injuries, making it much harder for you to receive fair compensation.
Step 2: Consult an attorney
When you’re dealing with a major car accident, it is unwise to file an insurance claim without speaking to an attorney first. The right auto accident lawyer will help you understand the process of getting fair and timely compensation, and will conduct a thorough investigation of your case to help you achieve the best outcome.
Depending on the severity of your car accident case and amount of evidence needed, this investigation may take several weeks to complete.
Step 3: File an insurance claim
The next step in your accident lawsuit timeline is filing a claim with the at-fault party’s insurance provider. Florida’s no-fault insurance system means that your medical bills and related expenses will be covered by your insurance – regardless of fault. However, the at-fault driver will meet any medical expenses surpassing $10,000.
Your insurance claim will be related to any property damage that occurred.
Step 4: File a lawsuit
Once you and your Florida accident attorney have filed a claim with the insurance company, you must wait to see if your claim will be accepted, and a settlement ultimately reached.
If a fair settlement can’t be reached, your attorney will initiate a lawsuit against the insurance company. This process can be long and drawn out, and typically involves a discovery period in which your lawyer will open your case back up for investigation. Depending on your case, this process may take several months to a year to complete.
Step 5: Trial
If, after attempts at mediation/arbitration and responding to motions raised by the insurance company, you are still unable to receive compensation, then your lawyer will bring your case to trial.
During trial, your attorney will collect and present all the evidence of your case to a judge and jury, and await a final verdict by the judge. Your trial period may take a few days to a week to complete.
What To Do If You’re Injured in an Auto Accident in Florida
Florida’s no-fault insurance system can be tricky to navigate, which is why it’s important to consult with a legal expert before you file an insurance claim. Here at Porcaro Law Group, we want you to receive the compensation you deserve.
If you’re currently searching for personal injury lawyers in Delray Beach, we will hear your story and go over the possibilities of your case during your free consultation. Contact our South Florida attorney’s office and together we’ll discuss all of your options.
Read over 50+ 5 star reviews here.
Do you need legal advice?
We're here to help you. Contact us today to talk to a lawyer.